Book Review: The Girl Before by JP Delaney

I went into this book with some pretty high expectations, and while I enjoyed the book, it wasn’t as spectacular as I had hoped it would be.

The Girl Before follows two women: Emma and Jane, as they live in a very unique house, One Folgate Street.  One Folgate Street has some very unique conditions attached to its lease as well as an equally unique landlord.  Emma is the past tenant and Jane is the current.  The chapters alternate between characters and so you quickly begin to see similarities in their stories as it is told.

img_2243
This book in its writing style and storyline is definitely in line with books like: The Girl on the Train, Gone Girl, etc.  (which, as you know from this blog – I love).  I’m not sure why it took me so long to get into this book, it had a slower moving beginning, and I also didn’t really connect with any of the characters.  I think it’s a personal thing that kept me from just loving this book as I have no problem with the writing or the premise of the story, so I can’t judge it too harshly for that.  I think a lot of people would love this book.

I did enjoy it, just didn’t love it the way I had wanted to.  Emma as a character is just…..crazy, but you figure that out pretty quickly, and Jane, I just think she lacked personality.  Edward was intriguing, you never quite knew where he stood on certain issues, and he is definitely the character that was portrayed in multiple different lights with no consensus among other people as to who he actually was.

One thing I really did enjoy were the random questions that popped up throughout the book.  These are questions that are asked of a potential tenant by the landlord, and it’s interesting to see what the multiple choice answers are.  They give you a bit of a peek into Edward’s brain and the way he sees life.  Also, reading them personally and wondering how you yourself would answer them could be a bit of a trip.

img_2245
So, I would say this is worth the read, and hopefully it doesn’t disappoint – it shouldn’t.

Consider following.

@hopesbookmark on Instagram, Twitter, and Facebook.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

