Book Review: How to be a Woman by Caitlin Moran

“We’re not arguing for the whole world.  Just our share.”


Last week (or the week before) I did a post on feminist books I had picked up, here’s a review on one of them.

Moran is able to write about feminism in a way that kept me reading.  Each chapter was essentially some story or period from her life that she was able to infuse with the discussion of feminism and why we need it, or what it looks like.  It was witty, edgy, and very smartly written.

Here’s the thing, it made me uncomfortable, Moran didn’t shy away from any topic, and I think that’s part of the reason I had a bit of a reaction to reading it, because she discusses things with such frankness, and they aren’t easy topics for discussion.  Nor are they popular, nothing was off limits.

She has one chapter called “I am a Feminist,” and I think that was the chapter that really kind of propelled me into the think space of “holy bananas, I am so out of the loop.”  She tells the reader to get up, stand on a chair and say “I am a feminist!.” I can’t do that, it just makes me uncomfortable, but then that is what the point of this venture is for – for me to figure out where I stand on feminism.

6174602656_img_0087I would say, that Moran presents a very pointed argument for feminism, but it doesn’t always seem like it’s open to other opinions.  Kind of like, there are many different points of view to a story, and while we may all want the same outcome, it doesn’t mean we’re all getting there on the same road.  I felt that on certain positions, she argued like there could only be one way, and I don’t necessarily agree with that.

However, for a beginners book on feminism, I think this one did really well.  It wasn’t dry, it made me laugh, it made me cringe, and it definitely made me think.  I would highly encourage reading this if you’re looking to start wading into the waters of what feminism is and why we need it.

Consider following!

@hopesbookmark on Instagram, Facebook, and Twitter.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

