#feminist book haul

I have recently come to the realization how limited by understanding of feminism is – in how gender inequality still impacts women’s lives and the actions being taken today to level the playing field in every aspect of life.


So, I did what we all do when we want answers – I googled it! Well, I googled best books to read on feminism and then went to my handy dandy library (which hey! has a feminism section) and picked some up.  Here they are in no particular order, along with my first impression thoughts on them.

img_2189

 

Lean In by Sheryl Sandberg – I have heard really good things about this book and she wrote the forward to Originals by Adam Grant so this book has actually been on my radar for quite awhile.  I don’t know that it was on my “need to read” radar but it was at least a book I was aware of.

 

 

img_2191
I am Malala by Malala Yousafzai and Christina Lamb – Probably the most well known book that I picked up.  I have seen the documentary I am Malala and remember just being blown away by Malala’s story.  (I had also seen her on the Jon Stewart show, which, if you haven’t seen that interview you must do so).  TBH when I think books on feminism this actually wouldn’t have been one that jumped to the forefront, I would put it under biography, which it is, but I don’t think you can argue with the fact that the work Malala is doing could be categorized as feminist.  This is the book that I am currently reading, it was the one I was most excited to pick up

img_2192

 

How To Be A Woman by Caitlin Moran –  What do I know about this book? I recognized the cover…that’s about it.  What sold me was the front blurb that said “The British version of Tina Fey’s Bossypants” which just means if I like this book, I’ll have to read Bossypants.  I like that this book seems to be a fusion of humour and truth, you know that moment where it’s funny buy not ha-ha funny.  I feel like there are going to be many moments of that in this book.

img_2190

Bad Feminist by Roxane Gay – This book appears (at a very preliminary and quick first glance) to be the most “academic” of the books I have picked up.  But, it was on just about every list of books to read regarding feminism, so I figured it was worth checking out (ha, get it?! ’cause it’s a library book?).

 

 

 

So tell me, are there any #feminist books out there that you think should be on the must read list? Or what are your thoughts on any of the above mentioned books?

Consider following!

@hopesbookmark on Instagram, Facebook, and Twitter.

4 thoughts on “#feminist book haul

Add yours

  1. I also find that my knowledge of the topic of feminism is also very limited. I am hoping to sign up to the library (again) – I need to renew my card – to be able to broaden my reading. I want to read books I like before buying them – there’s so many I want to pick up such as Bad Feminist, looking forward to your review!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

