Book Review: The Nest by Cynthia D’Aprix Sweeney

img_2193
I was not in the mood to read this book – but I am so glad I read through my funk and kept at it. It’s funny, because it’s not like I had actually heard anything about this book I had just seen it everywhere.  I picked it up on a whim when I saw it on the “New Releases” shelf at the library.  This book is spectacular.

The Plumb siblings have been counting down to the day when their youngest sister, Melody, turns 40 because that is when “the nest” – or money put away by their father – comes into their possession.  Unfortunately, their eldest brother Leo gets into some trouble, triggering the need for most of the money to be used to clear up that situation.  The problem is that most of the Plumb children were depending on that money to help them out of difficult financial situations.

Can you imagine? Thinking you were going to be gifted a substantial amount of money, planning your life accordingly, only to have it taken from you at the 11th hour? Gah, stressful.  What you can learn from that, unless the money is in your account, maybe don’t act like it is.

Leo, Jake, Beatrice (Bea), and Melody are the four siblings who are meant to be coming into the money; however, the story is told from multiple points of view including: children, partners, neighbours, and friends.  For the many different perspectives it is actually a very well told and cohesive story.


The Plumb family is described as “spectacularly dysfunctional” I didn’t see that, I just saw a typical family that needed to work through some issues.  It’s the working through the issues that is actually where the majority of drama comes from, it’s what happens before the money the starts the events of this book, but is so worth it when you get to the end and resolution has been granted.  That is one thing I really appreciated about this book, it wrapped the story up really well.  You know where people stand at the end of the book there’s not guessing about where people’s lives headed.

I thoroughly enjoyed this book, it took me too long to read, only because as I said at the beginning, my reading attention wasn’t really with it when I began, but I think typically reading on and off this book would maybe take 3-4 days if you’re an evening after work reader.  Or, and afternoon and a bit on the weekend.

Either way, have you read this? What did you think?

Consider following.

@hopesbookmark on Instagram, Facebook, and Twitter.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

