My Life: Quarter Year Reflection

NOTE: This isn’t a book entry (or, it isn’t meant to be) so if you’re here for books, please check out my other posts!

IMG_1078

As I write this I am in sunny, warm, beautiful California. It also marks the 5 week countdown (minus a day) until I return to real life in BC.  The last 4 months have been an incredible experience, and I am pretty devastated to now be counting down single digit weeks until the end.

Arriving in California, after THE LONGEST (!), day of travel on January 1, 2017 was a moment I will never forget.  The opportunity to relocate to the US (beginning with Nevada in August) was one that my husband and I didn’t want to lose out on and fortunately I work for some very understanding people who allowed me a leave from work to get down here for a little while.  So it’s crazy to me that our little adventure is quickly coming to and end.  Yes, I know 5 weeks is still a really good amount of time, but as this was an (all together) 8 month trek, 5 weeks seems quite short in comparison.

This time off has been great, it’s given me an opportunity to take the time and figure out what I want to do with my life.  Well, given me the time but not yet the answers.  Here’s what I do know.  I am so thankful to have been given the chance to live in California, even if for just a short time.  I love saying I live in California, there’s just something so fun about it.  Also, to be commuting distance to San Francisco, Santa Cruz, Monterey, it’s just something I never imagined would happen.

Here’s something to know about me, I suffer from wanderlust in the most ridiculous way.  I think I could relocate to somewhere new every couple of years and be OK with it just because I want to experience the world.  I want to see it all.  Being able to live in CA has definitely helped quench that thirst for a bit, because everything I do is new here.  It’s amazing.

Anyhow, as I reflect on the incredible opportunity afforded me to have time off from work, with zero obligations (no kids, pets, responsibilities) it just makes me realize how badly I want to find that thing in my life that makes me excited to get up in the morning.

I started this blog/bookstagram late 2016 but didn’t really think too hard about it until 2017.  I just wanted to see what I could do, I have always wished I could be a creative person but never felt that I had that in me.  I am THE LEAST artistic person you will ever meet, but I have come to realize that creative doesn’t necessarily equate to artistic.  There are so many different forms of creativity, you just need to figure out how to express yourself.  That is what I want.

So, there you have a bit of a 1/4 year wrap up on my life.  Pretty brief, but life isn’t slowing down anytime soon!

Consider following!

@hopesbookmark on Instagram, Twitter, and Facebook

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

