Book Review: Empire of Storms by Sarah J. Maas

img_1658

“Are you telling me…that even though I am the last living Galathynius, my throne does not yet belong to me?” – Aelin

 

 

 

 

I don’t even know where to start with this book.  But, before we really get into anything can I just take a moment to complain about the end! How can you leave us high and dry like that until May 2018?!?!?! Not cool, so not cool.

When I started reading this series a couple of weeks ago I knew nothing about it, I didn’t look online, so I was completely clueless.  When I went into book 5 I actually thought maybe it was the last book in the series. So wrong, so very very wrong.  The closer I got to the end of the book the more I realized there was no way the story was wrapping up by the end.  Ugh! I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, sometimes getting into a series when it hasn’t be completed is the WORST!!!

Anyhow, of the 5 books in the series to date, I think this one was definitely my favourite (except for the lack of Chaol).  The story moved really well, the characters were fun – it just worked.  Maas is just a really great story teller and this book really highlighted that.

As a heroine I thoroughly enjoy Aelin – she’s witty and strong but still a girl, she’s so young and you don’t really forget that (um, except for those couple of scenes with Rowan – I wouldn’t call her a girl for those).

The one thing I did notice is that there were definitely some similarities between this series and Maas’ A Court of Thorns and Roses series.  Not in a particularly bad way, just that there were some things that happened that I though I should have seen coming because I had read that plot twist previously (in her other series).

One final note, I ship Dorian and Manon so hard.  From their first meeting in the previous book I was on board.  I have no idea what to think will become of it, but I hope we see more of it in the next book.

Anyhow, as a new discoverer of Maas, if you haven’t read her stuff, pick up one of her series and enjoy being immersed in the world of magic, fae, and witches.

Please consider following!

@hopesbookmark on Instagram, Twitter, and Facebook

(Sorry about the pic, I try to post different ones on here and on Instagram, but I seem to have deleted all the other pics I took!)

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

