Checked Out


I depend pretty heavily on the library to fulfill my reading needs – this has its pros and cons.

Pros:

it’s free – if I don’t like a book I can stop reading it with minimal guilt attached,

I’m not responsible for finding room for all the books I want to read on a shelf,

it travels well – if you’re going to be in an area for an extended period of time getting a library membership is generally quite easy.

Cons:

you don’t get to keep the books,

you’re dependent on the library for their content and let’s be honest, some libraries are certainly better than others are having good books, getting new releases in, etc.,

getting to and from the library isn’t always the most convenient, particularly if your mode of transportation is your feet.

img_1454
At this time all my books are in boxes in two different provinces in Canada while I live in the US, which means that 1 – I don’t have any of my books with me, 2 – buying books isn’t really an option because I’m not somewhere where I can start accumulating stuff, 3 – I depend on the library and eBooks (thank goodness for iBooks when I don’t have access to a library) for all my reading pleasure.  Fortunately the library near where I live is a really good one and tends to be very on top of new releases.

My favourite thing is just to request a book, put it on hold, and then have someone put it on that handy dandy hold shelf so I don’t even have to go searching for the books I want. Though, I still love me a good browse.

That all being said, what do I have checked out right now? Um…a lot, like….a lot.  Here’s the deal, one night I was searching through the people I follow on Instagram and if I saw a book that looked interesting I checked to see if the library had it, if they did, I requested it.  I put just a ton of books on hold thinking they would trickle in a little at a time.  Ummm, no, that was a mistake.  I went to the library one day thinking I had 4 books on hold but when I got to the shelf there were 11! What?! On a related note – I run to the library, I have a running backpack that I fits about 5 books comfortably (plus, that’s all the added weight I really want to run with).  I somehow managed to drag all these books home (realized that wasn’t even all the books I had requested, some where still checked out to other readers).  Anyhow, as such, I now a pretty substantial pile of books sitting beside my bed, I have some on hold, and some have already gone back.  Just a never ending carousel of library books.


Library book I’m currently reading:

Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas (I have only just started reading Maas, A Court of Mist and Fury is probably one of my favourite reads of the month, if not 2017 to date)

Library books I have checked out that I need to read: 

The Warden’s Daughter by Jerry Spinelli

Cinder by Marissa Meyer

Frost Blood by Elly Blake

Optimists Die First by Susin Neilsen

Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

Ever the Hunter by Erin Summerill

Library books that are going back unread: 

The Year of the Flood and MaddAdam by Margaret Atwood [these are still on my TBR list, they just keep getting pushed back for other books and they’re due back soon.  Rather than keep them taking up space I’m going to wait until I am more in the mood to read these books.  I really enjoyed the first book (Oryx and Crake) but I find I need to be in the right mood to read Atwood and I just haven’t had the right mind set lately].

Library books I finished:

Truthwitch by Susan Dennard

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo (eBook)

King’s Cage by Victoria Aveyard

DNF:

Heartless by Marissa Meyer

Books on hold: 

Caraval by Stephanie Garber

The Girl Before by JP Delaney

Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss

Windwitch by Susan Dennard

Carve the Mark by Veronica Roth

Consider following!

@hopesbookmark on Instagram, Twitter, and Facebook.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

