DNFs and a Disappointment

img_1448

I don’t set myself a yearly book goal – I think goals are great, and I have more than once shown in my life that if I write something down I generally get around to achieving it, but for some reason setting myself a yearly book goal has just never been something I have put any thought into.  Also, the end of 2016 and the first 4 months of 2017 are definitely out of the ordinary in terms of time I have to allocate to reading, so even if I had made a goal for myself, I don’t think I would have been very good at predicting the number I could get through.  That being said, I have started to track the books I read (something I have thought about doing FOR YEARS – and am super bummed that I only just began) and to date I am at 36.  Yay me! But, let’s be real, not everything i pick up is spectacular, so here’s a list of the books that so far in 2017 I just have not been able to finish.

Life After Life by Kate Atkinson – I had never read any of Atkinson’s stuff until I picked up this book, and I had really high hopes for it as I have heard really great things about her writing. Alas, I just could not get into this book. I tried really hard to just keep reading and hope something would click, but it didn’t happen.  I’m not sure what the downfall was ultimately, but without connecting to a story I don’t see the point in continuing on with it.

Funny Girl by Nick Hornby – I adore a lot of Hornby’s writing, I think he’s hilarious and tells such a good story so, again, I went into this book with pretty high expectations.  Expectations that went plummeting pretty early into the book.  I actually liked the protagonist, and I though the premise of the story was pretty unique – it was just missing something for me.

Night of the Animals by Bill Brown – Now, I hadn’t heard anything about this book, nor had I heard of the author when I picked this up so it had no bars to meet when I began reading this.  I picked it up simply because the story sounded interesting – guy setting zoo animals free? OK, why not give it a go.  Well, it didn’t take long for me to give up on this book, maybe a chapter or two, which granted, may be a little too early to give up on a book, but I just kind of sensed it wasn’t for me.

The Girl with all the Gifts by M.R. Carey – OK, this book is crazy popular and it’s being made into a movie so I just assumed it would be good.  I really really really did not like this book and I tried hard, I read it waaaay past the point in which I would normally have given up.  First, when I picked up the book I didn’t really know what it was about, and TBH, zombies just aren’t my thing – so right there, problem.  Second – gore isn’t my thing, and while this book doesn’t go into graphic detail (or hadn’t by the time I gave up on it) the scene where someone was eating someone else’s innards was the moment at which I closed the book and said “nope, not for me.” So, I can understand why people liked it, it just wasn’t ever going to be something I enjoyed.

Heartless by Marissa Meyer – Yet another crazy popular author, and I haven’t given up on her yet, I have Cinder sitting in my TBR pile, so she’s getting another chance, but this book specifically – ugh. Just could not get into it, and again, I gave it a good shot I got almost 1/2 way through and realized it just wasn’t getting any better.  So, I gave up on it.

And finally a disappointing book that I did finish:

King’s Cage by Victoria Aveyard– I have enjoyed the Red Queen series for the most part, but book three kind of just amplified what I would have considered to be problems with the first two books.  Mare and Cal – I just don’t even know where to start.  They are the WORST together – (I still like Maven for Mare), but even beyond them as a couple, them as characters really began to bother me.  I was also thrown by the chapters being given in other people’s perspectives – particularly Cameron, at what point did she become a character that warranted her own chapters? Anyhow, I read it, I’ll probably keep reading this series if it continues – but yah, definitely not that best book in the series.

What books have you not been able to finish or just been really disappointed in?

Consider following!

@hopesbookmark on Instagram, Facebook, and Twitter.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

