Book Review: The Song Rising by Samantha Shannon

img_0382
Guys, I really enjoy this series, I sat down yesterday morning to start this book, and then finished it early afternoon.  It was just one of those books I knew was going to be a one-shot deal for me.  I actually got the book on Monday night, but knew I shouldn’t start reading it because then I would just be up all night reading, and frankly, all nighters just don’t have the same appeal to me as they once did.  I blame age – and sound reasoning.

Anyhow, I liked it, I like where the series is heading.  It wasn’t my favourite book of the series so far, but it still held good plot and character development.  I am such a fan of female characters who don’t relate to being too compassionate – or who feel like something is wrong with them when they don’t grieve “properly” – or just don’t react with emotions generally associated to a certain situation.  (This was the same with Mare from the Red Queen series).  Sometimes, I just don’t relate to overly emotional situations, and I appreciate that this character doesn’t seem to either.  I’m not saying Paige doesn’t have emotions or emotional moments, but it isn’t her default setting.

Warden plays a critical but more minor role in this book than previous ones, another piece of the plot I like – particularly because I believe we’ll be seeing a lot more of him in the next book of the series.  This book was more focused on Paige as Underqueen – namely what her role is going to be in the revolution, who she can trust, and what can she actually do without being killed.  There is very minimal attention given to relationships outside of those directly impacting Paige – it is definitely Paige centric.

img_0381
I suppose the one thing missing is that it would be interesting to know the dynamics of what is actually happening Underground while Paige works against Sion on the outside.  You see and hear bits and pieces, but just because of the strain in was causing before she left, I’d be curious to know how power is playing out while Paige is absent.

If you haven’t picked up this series yet, I’d say do it – except it’s going to be a long while before it is finished.  And if you have read the other two books, I am sure you’ll enjoy this one as well.

Please consider following.

@hopesbookmark on Instagram, Facebook, and Twitter

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

