Book Review: A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

img_1031

“Help me, help me, help me, I begged someone, anyone…Save me – please, save me.  Get me out, end this.”

Holy banana pants! The second book in this series os SO MUCH BETTER than the first.  Feyre’s journey from Under the Mountain back to Spring Court and then to Night Court is just so intriguing.  I gobbled this book up, it’s a super easy read, and there’s nothing to deep going on, but Feyre as a character, I just loved reading her story.  Also, let’s be real, Rhysand makes a pretty good secondary character, I enjoy their banter thoroughly.

Feyre discovers her life at Spring Court with Tamlin may not be exactly what it’s meant to be and finds an unexpected ally in the High Lord of Night Court.  Her journey past disappointments in this while also trying to prevent war make for a thoroughly entertaining story.

Here’s one note, and it’s just an observation, this book is marketed toward young adults, but man-oh-man..there are some downright steamy scenes in this book, that I’m not gonna lie, as a parent, I don’t know that I would need my 16 year old reading.  Maybe that’s just me, it probably is, but I was surprised with the, let’s say, level of detail there was in a couple of bedroom situations.  Anyhow, doesn’t make me like the book any less, it was just something I noted while reading this book.

img_1033

“I shouldn’t have been surprised.  Not when Rhysand liked to make a spectacle of everything.  And found pissing off Tamlin to be an art form.”

The introduction of the trio Cassian, Azriel, and Mor certainly added some great characters and development to this book.  I loved the trio and the trouble they cause for the two protagonists in this book.

If you’re looking for an bit of adventure, mixed with some pretty serious romance, this is a book that will keep you hooked.

I am certainly looking forward to the third book in this series which I believe is being released in May.

Please follow!

@hopesbookmark on Instagram, Twitter, and Facebook.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

