Book Review: The Good Father by Noah Hawley


OK, Noah Hawley is very quickly rising to the top of my favourite authors list, and I have only read 2 of his books.  The first book I read by him was Before the Fall, and it was the best book I had read in awhile.  With that, I figured giving another book of his a chance was only fair, and man-oh-man, I was not disappointed.

Hawley knows how to tell a story, he creates characters and situations that suck you in, you just want to know what happens, or what happened.  I’m not someone who has ever read that last page of a book to see how it ends, but his stories tempt me to.  Not in a bad way, because I want his books to last, but just in the sense that you wonder how much discovery are you going to have to go through before you FINALLY understand how the characters end up where they do.  I freakin’ love it.

“…isn’t our neighbors’ happiness just as important as our own?  

How can I be happy if my neighbor is suffering?” 

The Good Father is about Dr. Paul Allen and his son Daniel who is accused of assassinating a democratic Presidential candidate.  Allen tries to come to terms with how his son, of all people, could be accused of doing this crime.  At the same time, you are taken into Daniel’s life to follow the events the lead up to the moment where the shooting happens.

Throughout the entire book, it is a question of did Daniel do it? Certain issues come to light that may not make it a clear-cut case of “yes, he is guilty.”

“Without hope…there is no growth.  Without growth there is no life.”

I enjoyed how seamlessly the story flowed between characters and they way they saw each situation.  Allen as father and Daniel as son certainly saw different situations in very different ways, but you could understand each character’s point of view.  There was no thinking, “oh, he isn’t getting it” or “well he just doesn’t understand what was happening.” No, you could understand where both characters were coming from.  And I’m not sure all authors are able to present them, there always seems to be a more dominant character.  Allen certainly got a more page time, but it didn’t diminish the chapters revolving around Daniel.

All in all, I would highly recommend you bookmark this!

Consider following my blog, thanks!

@hopesbookmark on Instagram, Facebook, and Twitter.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

