Book Review: Swear on This Life by Renee Carlino

I struggle with writing reviews like this, because I don’t want to come off as just negative.  I like to try to find silver linings in books, even if I don’t enjoy them.  Sometimes the writing is great I just didn’t enjoy the story, or it just isn’t my genre of choice, there’s generally something I can make out of it.  However, in this case, the book was just…bad. And that makes me feel bad, because obviously not everyone thinks so, right? I mean, it got published, and there’s a person out there who wrote this, they (I’m assuming) put their heart and soul onto paper for us to enjoy, and in this case, it fell so flat.

Have you read this? Did you like it, because I just…..I don’t even know.  The writing, the story, the characters, everything about this book bothered me.  The characters were so one-dimensional, their story was flat, and I thought the writing was terrible.


The concept behind the book was interesting, which is why I decided to give it a read, but it fell apart so quickly that I’m not sure I can put that in the plus column.  Is this too harsh? I mean, book are personal right, sometimes they just don’t work for you.

Emiline, the protagonist, I wanted to like her, I did.  Her childhood sucked, he best friend was her person, it’s a classic love story with the boy next door.  Who doesn’t want to root for that story? Except, she’s just – I don’t even know, undeveloped, annoying, complain-y.  I couldn’t handle it.  Trevor, her boyfriend, I think HAD to be portrayed as a bit of a tool just to make the book work, and then at last minute you find out he’s addicted to painkillers?! What? Is that where the story was supposed to go?

Anyhow, I would never say don’t read a book, because reading is the greatest, but, I wouldn’t go out of my way to find this book.

Consider following! Thanks!

@hopesbookmark on Instagram, Twitter, and Facebook

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

