Age is Just a Number (on a page)

Is is weird that there are some children book series I really want to read? There’s just something about books aimed for the pre-teen and younger demographic that are so refreshing to read.  One – there normally isn’t an obscene about of more “mature” content, the relationships between the characters are generally a little more – I’m going to say, for lack of a better word, pure.  Two – normally a lesser degree of violence put into words. Three – whimsy, you can still write for kids with kids’ imaginations, that’s a quality you tend to lose are you age with your reading material.

img_0064
So, a few series on my must read list are as follows:

Wildwood series by Colin Meloy

I believe this is a trilogy, I’m not sure if more are planned, but this series has intrigued me for so long! I remember reading the back of the book when I worked at a bookstore, and I didn’t read it because I actually had every intention of buying the book.  But, then I left that job and no longer had a discount, so alas, they went unread.  Until now! I got the first book out from the library TODAY! Really excited about it, though looking for books in the children’s section of a library left a little to be desired.

Percy Jackson series by Rick Riordan

I have read the first and second book of this series, I think.  I have definitely read the first.  Anyhow, I would like to read the rest.  I enjoyed the first book, I don’t remember it very well, but I did understand the appeal.  Particularly because Harry Potter is one of the best things ever created on this planet, I plan on giving this series a go.  I don’t know that there are any similarities between the two series, but I feel like they could have kind of the same feel to them.

A Series of Unfortunate Events books by Lemony Snicket

I actually don’t know much about this series, except that it is now on Netflix.  But as the books are always better, I hope to read them before I indulge in the TV version.  Here’s what I know, they’re very popular, and adults like them too.  So, what do I have to lose? Not a whole lot – on to the list they go!

Any other geared-for-kids series I should know about and check out? Let me know!

Consider following.

@hopesbookmark on Instagram, Facebook, and Twitter (kinda)

 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

