The World Needs More Love – OTP

It’s January 19, the day before you-know-what in America and ALSO the day that marks 11 years with my husband! (WHAT?!?!?!) So, because the world does need more love – let’s talk about some of my favourite fictional pairings.

Who are your favourite fictional couples?! Did they get a love story worthy of their characters?


Jack and Aliena from Pillars of the Earth – They have one of those love stories you just always cheer for.  You want them to be happy, and yet at every turn something is in their way.  Pillars of the Earth is written by Ken Follett, and one of the things I like about his writing is he tends to actually wrap up his books quite well, as he does with Jack and Aliena – ultimately they end up together and happy, which frankly, after the lives the lead, they freaking deserve!

“She loved him because he had brought her back to life. She had been like a caterpillar in a cocoon, and he had drawn her out and shown her that she was a butterfly.”

One underrated couple would be Wade and Samantha from Ready Player One.  This book didn’t include a whole lot of “love story” (which, TBH I am OK with) but – by the end of the book you are certainly hoping that Wade finds some happiness somewhere, and while I am unsure how the story would continue to play out past the final page, you do genuinely hope he has found some of that happiness with another real person rather than an avatar.


Elizabeth and Mr. Darcy, such a classic.  Pride and Prejudice was the first Jane Austen book I ever read, and it certainly began the love I have for her writing.  I mean, you know from the beginning that eventually they are going to fall in love – it is possibly one of the most predictable love story plot lines ever written, you start as enemies become friends and then realize that *SURPRISE* I’m actually in love with you! Well, it’s a plot that people keep coming back to, so something must be working.  Either way, I love the relationship between these two characters.  I love the struggle they go through when they realize their feelings for each other.  It’s just a nice wholesome innocent love story, which is super refreshing to read sometimes.

 “You are too generous to trifle with me. If your feelings are still what they were last April, tell me so at once. My affections and wishes are unchanged; but one word from you will silence me on this subject for ever.”

Outlander’s Ian and Jenny.  Yes, Jamie and Claire are “the couple” of that series, but there is something just so stable and strong about Ian and Jenny.  They’re featured very little in the books really, but I just think they have such an interesting way of loving each other – particularly with Jenny’s fairly strong willed personality.  I always enjoyed reading their portions of the books.

Final couple, and to be fair, possibly the most frustrating as well.  Adam and Ronan in The Raven King.  Before it became a romantic thing, I really enjoyed their relationship – it is these two polar opposite people who seemed to always be able to ground each other.  I thought their dynamic was really well written, and then – they got together.  In possibly the most unsatisfying end to a couple on this list – I genuinely don’t know what will happen with them in the future (and why do I feel like Maggie Stiefvater is OK with keeping us all guessing – even with new books coming I’m not sure this well be resolved – or resolved in any way that will make people happy) but their friendship turned possibly more was a very intriguing part of this book series.

Let me know what you think of this (very in depth – ha) list.  If you could find out how a couple was doing post book ending, who would it be?

Please consider following.

@hopesbookmark on Instagram, Facebook, and Twitter

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

