A YA Kind of Weekend

It was just one of those weekends where I had no real plans to leave the house – the weather was terrible, NFL playoffs were on, and no urgent errands had to be run, so I pre-emptively planned and got myself to the library on Friday.  I also decided that it was going to be an easy reading weekend. Sometimes don’t you just want a book that doesn’t require any thought, doesn’t require you pay super close attention to all the small details and hidden meanings – naturally, this means I headed for the young adults section of the library.

There is just something almost comforting about knowing how many good story telling authors there are in the YA section that consistently entertain me.  I didn’t have any ideas about what I wanted to pick up, but figured I’d know when I saw it.  So, what YA novels did I grab for my weekend reading/relaxing/football watching weekend festivities? Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare and The Heir by Keira Cass.

Lady Midnight, can we first just talk about how freaking big that book is?! I mean really, it could injure a small child – it can also be super annoying to carry home from the library (maybe next time I’ll actually remember to bring a bag with me).  I have a love-hate relationship with Clare’s books, I was entertained by The Mortal Instruments (TMI) series but just could not get into The Infernal Devices trilogy.  I don’t know why, it just did not hold my interest at all.  I was super late the TMI party, all the books had been released for awhile before I picked up the first one, and to be fair, I’m not sure how I got onto reading them.  In all honesty, it may have been that I watched the first season of Shadowhunters and thought – huh, maybe I should read the books?! I don’t remember, either way, I think Lady Midnight is definitely my fave book by Clare so far.  I just liked the character and story better than TMI.  I am kinda bummed that I am now in the awful position of having to wait for the rest of the series to come out, but somehow I’ll get past it.

The Heir is the fourth book in a series of which I had read the first three books over the summer.  I am going to read the fifth book because I’m curious about how it all wraps up, and I enjoyed the book, but I don’t think I’m a huge fan of the protagonist – Eadlyn.  I don’t think she was written to be super likeable, unless you were mean to sympathize with her character (I did not).  And frankly, I have a hard time believing that the characters Max and America from the previous books could raise a girl to be so….spoiled, entitled, uncompassionate, and out of the loop with the needs of those around her.  Just one observation on the character, but I imagine (hope) to see some development on that front in the next book.

So, that was my weekend: YA, football, napping, and a minor trip to Costco in too much rain.  I hope you all enjoyed your weekend and have a spectacular Monday!

Consider following!

@hopesbookmark on Instagram, Facebook, and Twitter (ish-not really active there yet)

2 thoughts on “A YA Kind of Weekend

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

