Classics I Still Need to Read

You know how there are just “those books” that everyone is supposed to have read.  Those timeless classics that will never (or haven’t yet anyhow) gone out of style.  Don’t you ever wish you could actually say you had read them? I have read several….I think, but I know that when it comes to classics there is a gaping hole in my book repertoire. Below is a list of classic books that are on my “Read in 2017” list.  (I think my goal is going to be one per month). What classics do you need to read? Or better yet, which ones have you said you have read but in fact have not?

  1. The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald – I know, I know, I think this is probably the most embarrassing one to fess up to.  Hopefully the shame of not having read it won’t follow me around much longer.
  2. The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger – Now, to be honest, I think I have read this before (is it one of those required reading in school books?!) but for the life of me, I cannot remember any of it.  So, onto this list it goes.
  3. 1984 by George Orwell- Dystopian novel before they were cool?! Time to get on the 1984 train.  This book was a toss up with Animal Farm, so there is a possibility I’m going to try to get both books in.  We shall see.
  4. Lord of the Flies by William Golding – I can honestly say I have never read this book simply because I don’t like the title.  That is all.
  5. Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll- Because I’ve only ever known this as involving a blonde girl in a blue dress and a creepy cat.
  6. One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest by Ken Kesey- Oh my goodness! This is where all those pop culture references to Nurse Ratched comes from?!
  7. A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens – An author I know I have tried to read before but was unsuccessful, so here we go, try again!
  8. Crime and Punishment by Fyodor Dostoyevsky- I have in fact read The Brothers Karamazov, it was a bit of a slog, but, I’m willing to give this one a gander.  Or, you know, potentially weeks of my life.
  9. Catch 22 by Joseph Heller- I don’t know much about this book, except that I have been told previously that it is one I need to read. So alas, it is on the list.
  10. War and Peace by Leo Tolstoy – An book of epic proportions, I’m not sure whether to be delighted or terrified at that.
  11. Sherlock Holmes by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle – I am obsessed with the BBC TV show, maybe I should give the books a try?
  12. To the Lighthouse  by Virginia Woolf- It’s Virginia Woolf, I feel like I should at least be able to say I have something of hers that I’ve read.

CONFESSION:

The original list had Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy on it.  A book I have attempted to read 3 times now, I put it on the list with the greatest of intentions but when going back through the list I knew it would get pushed to the very end, because I just don’t know if I want to read it.  Have you tried? Did you finish it? Is it worth the effort? Let me know.

Also, final note, if you have an eReader of some kind, a lot of the classics are offered for free on the forums I have used/am using.  Check them out if you’re not sure how much you’re willing to invest in an actual physical book.

Please follow!

On Facebook and Instagram @hopesbookmark

 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

