If you liked “The Girl on the Train” by Paula Hawkins

 

The novel The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins has exploded.  Having a movie made about it has certainly helped with its popularity; however, before it was a movie, it was an exceptional book.  The protagonist being a young women who is encountering, let’s say, some significant challenges that include: a drinking problem, an obsession with her ex-husband, problems with her room mate, and building lies about the state of her career.  This book is certainly worth taking the time to read, but for those of us who have read this book, what else is out there? I have 4 recommendations of those of you who enjoyed the storytelling and plot of The Girl on the Train.

The Silent Wife – A.S.A. Harrison

This book, like the others in this list, revolves around the question of “What happened?”  I found this book particularly intriguing because of the state of the relationship between Jodie and Todd.  This book was a surprise read for me, I didn’t expect to like it as much as I did.

The Couple Next Door – Shari Lapena (Full book review available on this blog).

As I would have stated in an already published post, this book was just good.  It was easy to read but wasn’t pure fluff.  It sticks to the format similarly found in the other mentioned books here.  Definitely worth picking up.

Gone Girl – Gillian Flynn

Probably the least unexpected book on this list, it’s popularity was sky high, and just like with The Girl on the Train, it was certainly movie worthy.  The thing about this book is that it is only one in a handful of times where I can say, I liked the book A LOT, but I hated every character.  You don’t cheer for any character to come out on top. The ending is completely appropriate to the situation the characters put themselves in.

Reconstructing Amelia – Kimberly McCreight

I discovered this book while working at a bookstore, it wasn’t one that was highly marketed, but I was completely enthralled from almost the moment I picked it up.  The mix of past and present through the eyes of two different characters was intriguing.  I thoroughly enjoyed the style of this book and was very impressed with the story telling ability even as time jumped back and forth frequently.  I think what was unique about this book, as compared to the others is I didn’t feel like anyone really deserved what happened to them. The characters were likeable, and as such, the emotion felt ran a little more genuine while reading.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

